Dealing with discouragement

I read a post today titled “You ARE good enough” and it resonated so well with my life. If you have studied anywhere outside your country of nationality before, and you require a visa to travel into that country of study, you will understand what I’m about to write in this post.

With a CCIE badge on my chest, I felt unstoppable. Of course every organisation will be lucky to have me so I felt this change of location will not be a problem. Even though I was going to study and my visa would only allow 20 hours of work per week, surely getting a part-time job wouldn’t be a challenge, right? Wrong.

Not only are government policies not favorable for student visas in the UK, organisational policies are also unfavorable. In my line of career, no one really wants to hire an engineer that is only available 2 days in a week.

The rejections got so bad at some point that I began to doubt my expertise. I was fast losing confidence. Time went on and I was already expecting rejections in every mail I got. As it got deeper, the continual discouragement stopped me from even applying for roles anymore.

Until I sat up and decided that God’s Word is The Standard, I couldn’t move past the hurt. I don’t know where you may be facing discouragement and disappointment but I want to tell you that the rejection and failure do not define you; God’s Word does and He says you shall be the head and not the tail, that He will bless the works of your hand and that He will never leave nor forsake you.

Food for thought:

Identify what God’s Word says about your situation and hold unto it. It cannot fail.

Life nugget:

It is not your certifications that count; it is God’s Hands in your life.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

4 thoughts on “Dealing with discouragement

  1. aina says:

    And how won’t I just keep loving you. Like Jumoke or more than her, I’ll love you till eternity! I wasn’t crying until I read ur post! I’m very much okay “author”. :) lol

  2. Amplebrain says:

    Marianne Williamson’s famous quote puts it nicely:
    “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.’ We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone and as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give others permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others”

    Hmm, and the CCIE story, scary!

  3. Amie says:

    God’s word is definitely the standard.. Deolu thank you.. God bless you :)

Leave a Reply

