Your attitude while on your way to the top

(Photo credit- saidwhatimeant.wordpress.com)

I had a heart-wrenching conversation a few days back. It was one of those ones that you know what you should do but you feel incapable of doing it. When you give it deeper thought, you discover it’s not necessarily incapability but rather, unwillingness.

I once talked about doing what you love on this blog and I believe that’s a wonderful thing. But what’s your attitude while on your way to that thing? I know it’s easier to do what you love with less stress and little or no complaining. How about your behavior towards the things that are seemingly less important to you?

You look at that “big project” and you think to yourself: “That is where I want to be. That is what I want to do and I’d do it so well with all my energy.” And then you despise the “little project” you are working on- you give it just enough effort, after all, that is not where you want to be.

If only they could see my real worth and stop giving me these irrelevant jobs to do. Then they’d say I’m not performing. How will I perform when I’m not given a chance to?” I don’t doubt your/my ability to perform on that bigger task but the fact remains: That bigger task is not what we have right now. What we have is the little one and we must get through it.

I’m a believer in favor and grace and time & chance; but I’m also a believer of hard work and diligence and doing small things with the same effectiveness as the big ones. I typed this post with so much anger at myself so I may have come off a bit strong. But in the end, I hope the message was passed.

Food for thought:

Should doing something you don’t love be an excuse for mediocrity? Ecclesiastes 9:10

Life nugget:

Matthew 25:21 “His lord said unto him, Well done, thou good and faithful servant: thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord.”

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

2 thoughts on “Your attitude while on your way to the top

  1. KennyA says:

    nice..there are lessons to be learnt from this…whatever your hands findeth to do… and I will say to myself Kenny when it is time to move on, do it honorable and let them remember you for something good..

  2. KennyA says:

    An example is Joseph…he was happy in potiphar’s house and in the prison, he did his work diligently…and when it was time for God to lift him up, …he did not miss it…

Leave a Reply

