“God, please just take control of me”

(Photo credit: pcauthority.com.au)

I remember that day clearly as I knelt down at the back of my University Chapel, bent over on a chair, and cried my eyes out in prayer.  I had sinned again and I was tired of trying because it wasn’t working and I was not getting anywhere. So I said:

“Please God, just take control of me. I’m willing and I want you to just take over and control me.”

You see, you can have so much faith for the wrong thing but your prayer still won’t be answered because it is not in line with God’s Word. We were not made to be robots. We were created to have dominion (Genesis 1:28). We were created to be responsible (Genesis 2:15) and we need to take responsibility for our actions and life.

But we thank God for His boundless love for us because He did not leave us helpless. I like how John 14:16 reads in the Amplified version (emphasis added):

“And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Comforter (Counselor, Helper, Intercessor, Advocate, Strengthener, and Standby), that He may remain with you forever”

This 7-point manifestation of the Holy Spirit is just awesome to me. God doesn’t need to take over me (demons are the ones that possess); He has provided me with a Helper- God Himself is my Helper (Hebrews 13:6). Now, I just need to fully grasp (and believe) this.

Food for thought:

You want to pray according to God’s will? Just pray according to God’s Word.

Life nugget:

‘Light’ dispels ignorance.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

3 thoughts on ““God, please just take control of me”

  1. Pastor Sola says:

    Dear Adeolu, I was introduced to this by Remi Owokade and I found it so inspiring. Thank you for the time you take to write this.

Leave a Reply

