The same journey; 2 different attitudes

(Photo credit- tree.mindbloom.com)

In this post, I’d paint a picture using events that happened within a space of 5 days in my life.

Journey 1

Date- Thursday, the 7th
Destination- Some place
Start-off point- Home

The time to get there was 12:30pm. Trains come 30mins apart (e.g. 11:34, 12:04).
Time to get to the train station = Time to walk to the bus stop + Time it will take the bus to get to the train station — (Eqn 1)

I quickly threw on clothes and rushed out of the house, running to the bus stop and worrying that I’d be late. As I was turning in to the corner, I saw the bus in the distance, pulling away. Time was 11:32am. Worry skyrocketed. Next bus wasn’t due for another 9 mins. If I didn’t make the 12:04, I would definitely be late. Pacing around at the bus stop waiting for the bus, it was delayed. *Sigh. Bus finally came by 11:45, looked at my watch all the way to the train station. Got there in 9mins. Had to wait for another 10mins for the train. Why was I even worried??!

Journey 2

Date- Tuesday, the 12th
Destination- Same place
Start-off point- Home

The time to get there was 12:15pm. Trains come 30mins apart.
Time to get to the train station (refer to eqn 1 above)

I put on my clothes, checked the time for the bus, and walked to the bus stop. With 3mins till the bus came, I waited patiently. It was 11:24am when the bus pulled up. Kept busy with ‘productive’ stuff while on the way to the train station. Got off the bus at 11:33am, walked to the train station just as the train pulled into the platform. Right on time. 15mins ride to my destination, I was 25mins early.

Same destination, 2 different journey experiences. Same journey, two different attitudes.

Food for thought:

My worrying didn’t make the bus come any faster. I wonder why I put myself through this kind of stress constantly.

Life nugget:

Matthew 6:31-32 “Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed? For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.”

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

Leave a Reply

