Do what you love

holsteemanifesto

I’m excited this morning. First day at work in 2013 and I got in early. You may not really understand why this is important so let me give you a brief history.

After several years of technological escapades beginning in my undergraduate days trying to know everything about everything (programming, Linux, hacking), I finally found my niche- Network and Security technologies (mostly Cisco). I was sold. You know that thing they say about what you’d do happily without getting paid to do? This was it for me (Although I knew I would get paid for it *grin*). That was 5 years ago.

Fast forward 4 years after into 2011 and I found myself out of my comfort zone doing something else that I considered intellectual stimulation for the time being- Oracle. It’s not Oracle as most people know it; it’s not a database world. I entered a world of Laws and Policies. Oracle Policy Automation helps convert those “impossible” texts of legal documents into executable code for policy guidance. It was really intriguing plus I was favored to get a job doing it even before I completed my degree.

Everything was going well until I found it more and more difficult to wake up in the morning and get ready for work. Working on a project (FATCA) that didn’t seem to have an end point did not make it any easier. In fact, as I got to discover, spending so much time doing something does not necessarily make it less complex. FATCA seemed like an evil maze. Efficiency dropped. If I got to work at 9:30 am, I considered myself early (No, work doesn’t start by 8; it starts by 9…I wasn’t that bad).

It got me really worried. What was happening to me? I felt like I was stuck in a rut. I had lost my passion. All those big dreams and fancy visions of a geeky (and entrepreneurial) Cisco career seemed to be fading away. Worse off, I was fast losing knowledge and skill about those technologies that I loved so much and used to know by heart.

If I thank God for anything (or any One), it will be the Holy Spirit. The way He’s able to speak you through tough times is just amazing. He explained to me that there was nothing wrong with me and I had only strayed from doing what I love. I had let the fears and uncertainties of life dampen my passion. I had settled.

Knowing the problem is a good step towards resolution but if you don’t do something about it, it remains unresolved. So I picked up my books and re-built my confidence in Cisco; I built labs with GNS3 and it felt so good; I immersed myself in those geeky conversations again. O, the joy!

Back to the present. Have I gotten a Cisco job? Am I back doing what I love? Oh no. At least not physically. Mentally though, I am. You see, your reality is what you believe. I believe this year is a return-to-your-passion year for me. I believe this year offers me an opportunity to move closer to my goal and I will. What do you believe?

Food for thought:

I found this helpful post by Paul Graham: How to do what you love

Life Nugget:

Your life is in your hands and it is your responsibility to make the most of it. Never stop doing what you love, no matter how little the time you put into doing it.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

9 thoughts on “Do what you love

  1. Amplebrain says:

    Welcome back. For a moment, I thought we had lost you.

  2. Detola says:

    Probably not, ample

  3. Banji says:

    Awesome Post. I’ve been there and there’s absolutely nothing more fulfilling than doing what you love and enjoying doing.

    Nice one Dheolu.

  4. tankolina says:

    Wow! I love dis post. Keep it up !

  5. […] I wrote the piece on ‘Do what you love‘, I got some feedback. A particular one warmed my heart greatly because my experience […]

  6. udumark says:

    Geeky post, but strikes home! Nice one bruv

  7. Tijani Abdurrahman says:

    Its really nice doing what you love best. Great write up, No wonder you sent me here. Laughing….

  8. KennyA says:

    Hmm..I am not sure I am doing what I love yet…m scared to think of doing what I think I love doing.. 🙂 …fear of starting and doing something completely different from what I have been doing all along…

  9. […] once talked about doing what you love on this blog and I believe that’s a wonderful thing. But what’s your attitude while on […]

Leave a Reply

