Which came first? The chicken or the egg?

chicken-and-egg

After I wrote the piece on ‘Do what you love‘, I got some feedback. A particular one warmed my heart greatly because my experience resonated so well with this friend of mine. It validates one of my reasons for starting this blog- learning from each other’s experiences.

However, this post is not about that feedback or that friend. It’s about another; one that picked my brain; one that challenged my views. He said plainly: “Passion is overrated“. Now, you have to be cautious about who you get into an argument with especially if the person has ‘brain‘ in his nickname and you have ‘pinkie‘ in yours.

In another post, I’d discuss his views which present wise words from Solomon (The Book of Ecclesiastes) and survival theories from Charles Darwin. For example, “Do what you love” vs. “Whatever your hands find to do, do it well”.

So there I was, stuck in an argument with Charles and Solomon, who wins that? I’d tell you who- Aristotle! You are able to argue about what you understand; philosophy questions the question.

I’d let you know what philosophical question I posed in that other post but the conversation with this friend of mine prompted the creation of a new category- Philosophy. Here, we’d deal with theories like the Chicken-and-egg problem. For instance, almost every organisation wants to hire a candidate with experience. So where does a job seeker get his initial experience?1

Philosophy may create more questions than it answers but it helps you think in unconventional manners. So what do you say? Let’s go philosophical.

Food for thought:

If you could get $1m now or a 50% chance of $100m, and both options are mutually exclusive, what option would you go for? Now, if it were $10m vs. $1b, which would you go for? Did your preference change? Why?

Life nugget:

You may not always be in high spirits so when you do get days like that, don’t question it, just enjoy every moment of it.

NOTES:

[1] I guess this is the reason they created Internships and Graduate programmes.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

3 thoughts on “Which came first? The chicken or the egg?

  1. Neo Medrol says:

    I’ll still go with 50-50 Theoretically (unless its $100m vs $10b)

  2. taoajay says:

    Reblogged this on ThinkCHANGE and commented:
    I find this interesting, and I’m waiting for the end of the story, as the debate is between two brainy friends happen to know!

Leave a Reply

