Faith: It’s in the tenses

believe

This is my first spiritual post and by God’s grace, there will be many more. We are all on a journey and I hope we’d help ourselves.

If you have noticed, in my previous posts, food for thought and life nuggets, I have touched a lot on faith and believing. It’s not a coincidence. It’s because I’m on a ‘Faith Course’ this month and possibly the next. I’m currently on “Bible Faith study course” by Kenneth E. Hagin. This is the official link although I got mine from Amazon.

I remember being taught tenses as a kid. Present, past and they added some participles. That’s all I remember. I don’t even remember if it was primary school or secondary school. I wouldn’t be needing it for this post. I’d just stick to the basic: past tense, present tense and future tense.

Past tenses describe events that already took place like “I was the father of the bride at my sister’s wedding” (more on this later). Present tenses are used for things that are currently taking place like “I am late for work” (*lips sealed). Future tenses provide information about things that will happen like I will be graduating on the 22nd of January“.

So what do all these have to do with Faith?

Heb 11:1:

NOW faith IS the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen” (Emphasis added)

Anything that is not “now” is not faith and anything in the future is hope. Simply put, faith is in the present and hope is in the future. We know the process to receiving from God: Ask, Believe, Receive (Mark 11:24). Has it happened to you that you pray for a thing and then you say something like, “I hope I will get it”? That’s not faith, it’s hope and hope doesn’t receive from God, only faith does (Heb 11:6).

Since I read about that difference, I’ve watched my tenses and it has helped me become bolder. I still have questions about how to pray concerning future events or knowing that what you asked for is according to God’s will but I’d let you know how I get on.

Food for thought:

Why does it seem like new converts find it easier to grasp the concept of faith than most that were brought up in Christianity?

Life nugget:

We all have areas of weakness. It doesn’t mean we are failures; it’s only an opportunity to become better.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

2 thoughts on “Faith: It’s in the tenses

  1. […] In 2010, I made a vow- one that when I wrote down the amount, I got scared. But since this was not my first vow, I chose to believe. In retrospect, I guess I wasn’t believing at all; I was hoping (I discussed faith vs. hope HERE). […]

  2. […] I find that I still struggle in some of these areas- watching the numbers, faithing as opposed to hoping, starting where I […]

Leave a Reply

