The costliest mistake I ever made

a.baa-Mistake-sign

I’m going to start this post with two verses from the Holy Book, the Bible. Ecclesiastes 5: 4-5:

4 When thou vowest a vow unto God, defer not to pay it; for he hath no pleasure in fools: pay that which thou hast vowed.

5 Better is it that thou shouldest not vow, than that thou shouldest vow and not pay.

In 2010, I made a vow- one that when I wrote down the amount, I got scared. But since this was not my first vow, I chose to believe. In retrospect, I guess I wasn’t believing at all; I was hoping (I discussed faith vs. hope HERE).

2011, the year of reconciliation came and excuses mounted. That year went by and I told myself, “God understands”. 2012 came and “God still understands”. In summary, it took me 2 years to pay a vow that was to last for one year. I can’t begin to tell you how costly this folly was. It seemed I was getting money and I just could not explain where it was going. That same period, even with my borrow-phobia, I got into another (human) debt.

I found myself servicing the other debt at the expense of my vow to God because “God understands”. You see, until I started telling myself that “God does not understand”, I could not move beyond the problem. I will probably highlight the steps I took to getting out of that vow-debt in a later post but I’d tell you this: He is a merciful Father.

If you find yourself in a similar situation today, by all means do whatever is necessary to make restitution.

Song for the moment: Mistakes by Marvin Winans

Food for thought:

Borrowing is not a sin but it is a weight; an unnecessary weight (Dr. David O. Oyedepo)

Life nugget:

Never feel compelled/cajoled to give.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

3 thoughts on “The costliest mistake I ever made

  1. Presh says:

    True bro..*thumbs up*..i once read this somewhere “Often times we borrow the money we don’t have, to buy the things we don’t need, to oppress the people that don’t care all in the name of competition.(Comment refers majorly to the food for thought) Cheers…

  2. airboney says:

    hmmm presh: wise words u got right there “talk about consumerism”… thats the main ish right now… I really am touched with this post… GOD bless the author the author

  3. […] read the above quote on a blog site of a friend, it was a comment someone had made on the site (The Coolest Mistake I Ever Made) and it made so much sense! Gosh, the number of irrelevant things people do with borrowed money. The […]

Leave a Reply

