Inspiring books of 2012

books-glasses

In 2011 (you should have noticed by now that I have something for dates), I decided to read one book every month. By the end of that year, I had read 7 books, including the Bible. I did better in 2012 and here I present the 12 books I read last year. There were months I didn’t read a book and some when I read 2 books to make up. You get the point. In no particular order, here they are:

Thinking for a Change by John C. Maxwell. This was the 1st book I read in 2012. John Maxwell contrasts various types of thinking.

I believe in Visions by Kenneth E. Hagin. This man’s life and ministry were filled with and shaped by visions especially those of Jesus. Reading this book is like entering into a world of fantasy.

Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill. This was the most impressive book I read last year. Written in the early 90s, the content of the book is still as relevant today as ever. But unlike me, I hope you’d have enough discipline to follow through with the advice.

The Believer’s Authority by Kenneth E. Hagin. As with any other Kenneth Hagin’s book, deep, funny, great read. Understand what your authority as a believer really is.

The Lean Startup by Eric Ries. The lean methodology was my most important discovery in 2012, thanks to Tolulope Ogunsina. A totally different approach to building anything new (startup).

Winning keys in troubled times by Leke Sanusi. My pastor in RCCG, Victory House London. If you want to give your prayer life a lift, just read any of his books.

Battlefield of the mind by Joyce Meyer. For someone who went through a lot of negativity in her earlier life, if she has something to say about positive thinking, then you should listen.

Tongues: Beyond the Upper Room by Kenneth E. Hagin. If you are struggling with this “Tongues business”, this is the book for you. Do you have to tarry before receiving the Holy Ghost? Must every Holy Ghost filled Christian speak in tongues? Find out in this book.

How You can be led by the Spirit of God by Kenneth E. Hagin. Recommended to me; I read and liked it so much that I started buying and giving it out as gifts. Learn about the different ways God leads His children: Inward witness, The Inward Voice and Voice of the Holy Spirit.

Plans, Purposes and Pursuits by Kenneth E. Hagin. Would you believe that God never called Kenneth Hagin to be a pastor? He missed God’s plan for his life for 12 years. I read that and I’m like “Huh?? Even Kenneth Hagin?“. Here you’d also learn about God’s perfect will vs. His permissible will.

Eternal Judgement by Derek Prince. Hmm, this book. Got it from Seyi Feyisetan. Are you still unsure about how the world will wrap up? Did you know there are up to 7 judgements at the close of age? Look no further. This is the book for you. It’s part of a bigger book- Foundational Truths for Christian Living.

The Bible by The Holy Spirit. When the author of a book is your teacher, you have passed. I used a reading plan (Bible in one year) from YouVersion. Nothing can replace this Book in ones life.

Let me know the books that made your own 2012.

Food for thought:

How much investment do you make into study? Should you be doing more?

Life nugget:

Leaders are readers.

NOTES:

Should you be interested, clicking on some of the pictures will take you to the Amazon search for those books.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

8 thoughts on “Inspiring books of 2012

  1. amen o..God wee help us o..to read *books like this* in 2013 o

  2. iammeella873 says:

    Reblogged this on Wonderful Ella and commented:
    Read books and inspire!

  3. Sunny says:

    one of such book of 2012 is: Living a life of fire–autobiography of Bonke. I called the book: The Act of the Apostle chapter 29. It blessed me beyond measure, it shows that Jesus of the Acts of Apostle is still Jesus of Today and that God is not a respecter of person.

  4. Cyrus The Great (probably the best book on leadership),
    Start it Up (Luke Johnson),
    The Start-up of You (by the founder of LinkedIn),
    Pitching Hacks (how to pitch startups to investors),
    Purpose Driven Life (if you have not read it),
    The Name of Jesus (best book of the year – by Kenneth Hagin),
    The Blessing of the Lord (Kenneth Copeland),
    The Sign (intriguing book on the Shroud of Turin – unfinished),

    Haha! and 97 things every programmer should know 😀
    Hmmn, and 2 of my books are missing …

  5. Kunle says:

    Nice! you guys (Seyi and Deola) should start a book club. That way, no one’s book will be “missing”

  6. Amplebrain says:

    I think I have read about half of your list. I am adding the rest to my growing list for 2013.

    Some recommendations for your 2013 list (in addition to Seyi’s)
    1. Fooled by Randomness /Black Swan/ Antifragile (Nasim Taleb)
    2. Blink/Outliers/Tipping Point (Malcolm Gladwell)
    3. Getting to Plan B (John Mullins) – For your Entrepreneural journey
    4. God chasers (Tommy Teney)
    5. Seven Habits of Highly effective people / 8th Habit (Steven Covey)
    6. The pilgrim’s progress (John Bunyan)
    7. What Ticks God Off (Bruce and Stan)

    There you go. My recommended 12 for your 2013. Have Fun :p

    P.S: Can you do a book review from time to time, if you have the time?

Leave a Reply

