He’d get high with my money

I recently read a post about a woman who showed kindness to a homeless man. It’s not one of those stories where the man turned out to be an angel or something fancy. It’s just a story of plain love with a simple message.

To summarise the story, she and her children showed kindness (bought gifts and gave alms) to a homeless tattooed guy and his dog on the road; a kindness that moved him to tears. Her message was that we sometimes get so caught up in our own worries that we fail to see how good we have it.

But I’m going to push it a bit further. I have to confess that I’m often skeptical about giving alms because for some reason, I assume that “He will just get drunk or get high with my money”. But why do I make that conclusion in my head? Why do I label these children of God as misfits of the society?

Now, maybe I’d stop and say “God bless you” while I drop something and pray that God sustains him. Maybe I’d go grocery shopping for the sole purpose of giving it out. If you ever thought like me, I guess this is a wake up call for us. Don’t be quick to judge.

Food for thought:

This post reminds me of how the bible describes Jesus in Isaiah 53:4 “Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted.”

Life nugget:

Proverbs 19:17 “He that hath pity upon the poor lendeth unto the Lord; and that which he hath given will he pay him again.”

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

4 thoughts on “He’d get high with my money

  1. I love what you did with the story!!!! Take care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  2. Thats a pretty nice story. Love the shortness of the post also

  3. udumark says:

    Very true…u struck home with this

  4. Cindy says:

    NICE ONE

Leave a Reply

