Be Extreme

I notice that in the life of great men of God in the Bible, there’s a level of extremity towards God and we can usually find one statement that describes this. Here, we’d take a quick look at some of these people:

  1. Enoch: Gen 5:24 And Enoch walked with God: and he was not; for God took him.”
  2. Joseph: Gen 39:9 “There is none greater in this house than I; neither hath he kept back any thing from me but thee, because thou art his wife: how then can I do this great wickedness, and sin against God?”
  3. Joshua: Josh 24:15 “And if it seem evil unto you to serve the Lord, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”
  4. Esther: Esther 4:16 “Go, gather together all the Jews that are present in Shushan, and fast ye for me, and neither eat nor drink three days, night or day: I also and my maidens will fast likewise; and so will I go in unto the king, which is not according to the law: and if I perish, I perish.”
  5. David: 1Sam 17:26 “And David spake to the men that stood by him, saying, What shall be done to the man that killeth this Philistine, and taketh away the reproach from Israel? for who is this uncircumcised Philistine, that he should defy the armies of the living God?”
  6. Daniel: Dan 1:8 But Daniel purposed in his heart that he would not defile himself with the portion of the king’s meat, nor with the wine which he drank: therefore he requested of the prince of the eunuchs that he might not defile himself.”
  7. Paul: Acts 21:13 “Then Paul answered, What mean ye to weep and to break mine heart? for I am ready not to be bound only, but also to die at Jerusalem for the name of the Lord Jesus.
  8. Jesus: John 4:34 “Jesus saith unto them, My meat is to do the will of him that sent me, and to finish his work.

From you guys that read this:

  • Shadrach, Meshach, and Abed–nego: Dan 3:16 “Shadrach, Meshach, and Abed–nego, answered and said to the king, O Nebuchadnezzar, we are not careful to answer thee in this matter.” – @ToluRomio
  • Ruth: Ruth 1:16 “And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:” – @Presh

Food for thought:

What’s that one statement that describes your extremity for God?

Life nugget:

“If you don’t stand for something, you will fall for anything”- (Author disputed)

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

5 thoughts on “Be Extreme

  1. Tolu Romio says:

    Even if you cease to be God i will still follow you – pa2

Leave a Reply

