A battle for mercy

There’s something that has always tugged at my mind and it’s one of those questions that you are too scared to find out how it applies to you:

“Why did God love Jacob and hate Esau (in comparison)?”

Like they were not even born yet before the choice was made! Then I’ve always felt Paul wasn’t helpful at all when he said in Romans 9:18:

Therefore hath he mercy on whom he will have mercy, and whom he will he hardeneth.

He went on to say in verse 20 that the creature cannot question the Creator. Sigh. It was settled: As the creature, I could only live my life hoping that I was included in the mercy train of God.

But yesterday, I saw something I had never seen before.

Romans 9:23-24:

23 And that he might make known the riches of his glory on the vessels of mercy, which he had afore prepared unto glory, 24 Even us, whom he hath called, not of the Jews only, but also of the Gentiles?

Wow! So all along, I’ve been a vessel of mercy? Even though I know I’ve been saved by grace, some part of me felt like I had to strive for the mercy of God. It’s great to finally get that off my mind.

Food for thought:

I may still not understand Jacob and Esau, but frankly, does it matter?

Life nugget:

When light comes, darkness disappears.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

4 thoughts on “A battle for mercy

  1. Mary Narvasa says:

    Nice to know we didn’t have to worry about that. 🙂

  2. cinchi says:

    Deolu, dis is great keep it up

  3. Dr Olaide Owokade says:

    My dear, God did not hate Esau. He hated what he did. When He created the world including each and everyone of us, He saw that it was good. I guess many of us make Him see the reverse by our actions. May we continue the mercy He has prepared for us.

Leave a Reply

