Faith takes responsibility

(Photo credit: guardian.co.uk)

There are times when I want something and I just expect God to wave His magical wand in Heaven and poof, I get it. Sometimes I even go a step further and pray about it and then I wait. But faith without works is dead (James 2:26).

Although James may have been referring to “Christian Faith” as a whole in that verse, I also believe it can be applied to faith to receive. I know this is deeper than it seems and I’d just be scratching the surface with some examples.

  • You want to get out of debt but you have no plan of how you want to pay it back. I believe your faith is what makes you write that plan knowing that God will back you up.
  • You want to build a house but you have no idea of how much it will cost, so how will you save?
  • You want to get that new job but you are not applying or praying for favor? How will they get in touch with you?

We sometimes think that Christianity exempts us from taking responsibility but faith takes responsibility. Praying may be your own responsibility, so pray ceaselessly; it may be saving up, so save and let God have something to multiply- zero x 100000 is still zero. I pray God gives us the wisdom to know what our responsibility is and the grace to do it.

Food for thought:

Psalm 37:5 “Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.”

Life nugget:

Talk the talk; walk the walk

Notes:

I know there are exceptional testimonies like someone getting a job they didn’t apply for, but I believe there must have been some sort of action.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

3 thoughts on “Faith takes responsibility

  1. Dr Olaide Owokade says:

    You are damn right my dear! Dr Owokade

  2. KennyA says:

    A faith that makes God totally responsible is an irresponsible faith (Bishop David Oyedepo)

  3. TheOluchi says:

    Nice piece.

Leave a Reply

