I don’t know how to pray (Part II)

(Photo credit- prayinghisword.com)

So there’s a 3-day, 7-day or 21-day Prayer and Fasting program in Church and every service, you pray for so long that you think to yourself “Ah! At least I don’t have to feel any guilt for not praying today.” You grin all through the service and then the Pastor comes up at the end and says: “The prayers that we have done here are not a substitute for your personal cry. When you get home, pray for nothing less than one hour.” Poker face.

From the comments in the previous post, I know many of us go through the same thing. But thank God! He doesn’t leave His children helpless. There are two things I recently discovered that have helped me and I share them with you now.

The first one is Grace. God’s grace is actually ‘tangible’. You can feel it when it rests on you because you will know that the things you are doing cannot be by your own power. So like Bishop David Oyedepo once said, I now pray for the grace to pray. It seems counter intuitive but it works. Before I start praying, I just ask God for the grace to pray.

The second one struck me: Pray with purpose. The reason it’s easy to mumble around with words is because you really “don’t have anything to pray about”. That’s not true. The fact is you “don’t know what to pray about”. So pray with purpose. Before your prayer session, have a list (prayer requests) of what you want to pray about. That way, you are able to run through the list with focus.

There are still days I rely on the prayers I’ve made with the group in Church or something so it’s not like I’ve accomplished. But I’m on my way. Try these things and let me know how you get on.

Food for thought:

When it comes to the area of fasting too, I sometimes struggle but these same principles can be applied: Grace and Purpose

Life nugget:

“Satan does not care how many people read about prayer if only he can keep them from praying.” Paul E. Billheimer

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

4 thoughts on “I don’t know how to pray (Part II)

  1. Dk says:

    This is so True….I love this post its really Helpful…..God Bless!!

  2. seeker says:

    It’s all about Grace, a day of grace….

Leave a Reply

