If He has forgiven me, why do I still feel punished?

(Photo credit- andrewroebert.wordpress.com)

There are times when I’m tempted to think that God still deals punishment out to me for a confessed and repented sin. For example, I sometimes think that the reason Paul had so much imprisonment in his lifetime was because of the sin he committed before he became saved. But that reasoning is contradictory to 2Corinthians 5:17:

Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

If God still punished us for sins that we committed before we became Christians, that will be impossible to bear, won’t it? But what about the sins we commit as Christians? Sometimes, I go through ordeals in my life and I think it’s a consequence for my sins FROM God. But that won’t be right according to the Word. 1John 1:9:

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

Hebrews 8:12:

“For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their iniquities will I remember no more.”

No more means no more. And yet, countless times, I remind God of sins He can’t remember. I wonder why I do that to myself- the need to feel sorry and pity for myself. I constantly need to remind myself, “Repent genuinely, Ask for forgiveness, Move on”. Ain’t nobody gat time for that.

Food for thought:

The “faithful” in 1John 1:9 tells me that His forgiveness is unending.

Life nugget:

Colossians 1:14 “In whom we have redemption through his blood, even the forgiveness of sins”

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

Leave a Reply

