It didn’t come the way I expected

(Photo credit- nedmartin.org)

I don’t know about you, but when I pray, I have an expectation of how I think God will answer. It’s either one of my long-never-spoken-to aunt calls me and tells me to send my account number or I just happen upon the boss of that company I applied to on the train and he offers me the job on the spot. Yes? No.

Isaiah 55:8-9:

“8 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. 9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

Except for maybe visions and dreams, the answer to my prayer doesn’t come the way I think it will. They sometimes come in the funniest way and I think to myself, “God has a sense of humor”. It just lets me know His unfathomable depth.

That aunt doesn’t call. An opportunity opens up for me to work with my hands (this is just one possibility). I don’t meet anyone on the train. Someone just sends me an unsolicited message on LinkedIn.

Food for thought:

Has the answer to your prayer come and you don’t know it because it didn’t come the way you expected?

Life nugget:

Don’t try to reason God (and spiritual things in general) out.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

One thought on “It didn’t come the way I expected

  1. detola says:

    Don’t we all long for that aunt’s call

Leave a Reply

