A community of trust

(Photo credit- sheknows.com)

Some weeks ago, I went grocery shopping and after I had gotten home, I noticed from the receipt that I had been charged extra for something I didn’t buy. Right there I had two options: (1) Keep the receipt and go back to customer service or (2) just forget about it.

The first question that ran through my head was: “Why would the customer service rep believe me?” You see, I come from a society where trust is not easily given. All the same, I decided to keep the ticket and go back.

On the day I went back, as I approached the customer service desk, I put on my sternest face ready to “fight for my right”. Pointing to the receipt in my hand I said to her, “Sometime last week, I can’t remember the exact day now, I was charged for something I didn’t buy“. If I had hair, I probably would have flipped it at that point. No questions asked, she looked at the receipt, checked the price of the item, opened her cash machine and handed the money back to me.

Of course, apart from feeling silly for going there bearing all my armor,  I wondered about how they could easily believe that I was telling the truth and that I had no reason to lie. Or could it be that they are looking at the bigger picture and would rather lose some money (if people lie about stuff like that) than lose customers?

Whatever it is, I’d like to live my life that way- not in a way of being naive about the “wickedness of men” but more about living freely without paranoia.

Food for thought:

It’s the same thing with food places like Nando’s who leave the drink machine accessible to everyone and trust you enough to drink what you’ve paid for.

Life nugget:

Matt 5:37 “But let your communication be, Yea, yea; Nay, nay: for whatsoever is more than these cometh of evil.”

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

Leave a Reply

