Family rituals

(Photo credit- badideatshirts.com)

A few days ago, I was thinking back on my childhood days and how some things just became rituals. And it seems most families have some kind of ‘ritual’ in them also. Let’s see some of them:

  • Food timetable: It’s usually not a timetable pasted up on the wall but you just know what is for lunch/dinner on some particular days. Like Friday and Sunday night was Beans and dodo. Sunday afternoon was rice- mostly jollof rice. If there’s a special occasion, fried rice (nobody has time to be dicing ingredients every Sunday).
  • Chores: Lol. My sisters did most of them. I only used to fill the bottles of water and put in the fridge.
  • Eat-out: This is the best. The time you say “I’m hungry” has to be right- It has to be just after you have left mum’s office and right before you get to Mr Biggs. Any time before this means you will buy some random food or you will settle for gala.
  • Saturdays: Saturdays were very funny days. A mix of weird, boring, fun, and just random. I used to go to a lot of ‘owambes’ with my parents when I was much younger. It was also the day for general house clean up which meant cleaning the fridge for me. The worst was: There was no fixed meal on the food timetable.

It’s funny how these things grow up with you and become a part of you like the fact that I have a certain breakfast on Sundays.

Food for thought:

I think the virtual food timetable one was very common in Nigerian homes.

Life nugget:

Proverbs 22:6 “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

2 thoughts on “Family rituals

  1. AINA says:

    loool

  2. sisiblu says:

    I can relate!!!

Leave a Reply

