Terms and Conditions: The small print

(Photo credit- memegenerator.net)

I was on the train some days back and I saw one of these adverts with a “wonderful” deal; for example, a deal like:

“Fly to Italy for £20* only!”

(I can’t remember the particular advert now but you will get my point). Anyways, when I see adverts like this, I look for the ‘*‘ and sure enough it was there; so I followed the star. And for example purposes, you will see something like:

* Terms and conditions apply. Taxes may cost above £500

Have you ever noticed adverts like this? Well, that’s what adverts are supposed to do: catch your attention. But one has to be careful to read those terms and conditions because you may end up signing up for something you can’t afford.

But thank God the Kingdom of God is not “shady” like that. The Bible makes it clear the cost – terms and conditions – of being a Disciple. Jesus said in Luke 14:27-28, 33

“And whosoever doth not bear his cross, and come after me, cannot be my disciple. For which of you, intending to build a tower, sitteth not down first, and counteth the cost, whether he have sufficient to finish it?…So likewise, whosoever he be of you that forsaketh not all that he hath, he cannot be my disciple.”

To me, that is pretty clear enough.

Food for thought:

In the IT world, one of the greatest lies we always tell is when we click yes or tick the box next to “I have read and understood the Terms and Conditions”. Lol. Who reads those things?

Life nugget:

Luke 9:61-62 “And another also said, Lord, I will follow thee; but let me first go bid them farewell, which are at home at my house. And Jesus said unto him, No man, having put his hand to the plough, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.”

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

3 thoughts on “Terms and Conditions: The small print

  1. Timiebix says:

    Working with customers everyday makes it very obvious that people don’t read terms and conditions! It is a big deal!
    Customer: It doesn’t work on my PS3 Me: err it says in the terms and conditions that were not compatible with that ma’am. etc.

    Working with God is clear, no hidden charges! Work with him, serve Him truthfully and His blessings and kingdom are yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

