Love: Head versus Heart

(Photo credit – giova94.deviantart.com)

True story; no jokes. It happened yesterday.

I went to Church yesterday and decided to sit at the far back – the back of the back that was meant for the technical crew members. The seats were clearly marked as reserved for them but the “logical” me figured that even at other services when they were reserved, no one sits on them. Mistake 1.

Anyways, I wasn’t the only one who wasn’t part of the technical team that sat there; we were 3 – one other man and another lady. As sermon was going on, one of the technical team heads (I think) came along and told us to move because the seats were reserved. I just smiled in good faith and said okay with the intention to move after the sermon. Plus, no technical team member was going to sit there after all.

In summary, he came back and got ticked off that we hadn’t moved; caused a racket and we had to move. Sermon was still going on, I was fuming on my new seat. Lol. I knew I committed the first wrong but my head told me that even though we were wrong to sit there, 2 wrongs (causing commotion during the sermon) didn’t make a right. I was going to wait till the end of the service and casually walk up to him and say: “I think you were wrong to have raised your voice while service was going on; moreover, no one sat there after we left.”

I don’t like confrontation; however, I’d rather speak to you than hold a grudge. Unforgiveness is not an option. So I sat in the Sunday School class after the service waiting for it to end so I can go meet him. Just before it ended, the teacher said something in the line of: “We have to learn to live peaceably…and it may require you saying sorry even when you feel you are right.” Well, I didn’t argue with that because that wasn’t the first time I will hear something like that; it was just a timely reminder. So I changed strategy.

I walked up to the technical team section and beckoned to him to have a chat and I started: “I’m really sorry for what happened earlier…” and before I finished, he was like “Ah, I’m really sorry for causing a stir…I shouldn’t have…”

I walked away from there stunned; Love really never fails.

Food for thought:

It may be possible to gain closure (forgiveness wise) if you get the opportunity to “speak your mind”. The truth however is that whether or not you get that opportunity, you must still forgive. #NoteToSelf

Life nugget:

1 Peter 4:8 “And above all things have fervent charity among yourselves: for charity shall cover the multitude of sins.”

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

3 thoughts on “Love: Head versus Heart

  1. sisiblu says:

    I’m blessed! Thanks! We should make every effort to live at peace with all men.

  2. HIBEE says:

    Thank You.

  3. Simbo says:

    based on the title, I expected a totally different trail of thought…

Leave a Reply

