Parallel Universe

(Photo credit- dashburst.com)

I was having lunch at Nando’s sometime last week (my “affinity” for Nando’s is a post for another day) and I was seated at a table across a group of teenage girls, like 6 of them. Of course a restaurant is a place of gathering of a group of people even though many times I’m there on my own- eat my food in peace and “quiet”. That was not the case that day.

These girls made so much noise and laughed hysterically throughout my time there. I was pissed because I wondered how people could be so inconsiderate of others. Like, how can you disturb the many just because a few of you are having fun? As quiet as I am, I actually considered going over to their table to ask them to kindly keep it down. Well, if I couldn’t pull that off, at least I could call ask a Nando’s staff to tell them. But then I thought to myself, “That would be damping some people’s fun”.

(Photo credit- tumblr.com)

Anyways, as I was still fuming and calming at the same time like a sine wave, I remembered something. A group of friends and I went to see a movie and apart from the side comments we made with each other, we also used our phones at different times. At the end of the movie, a couple came up to us and starting causing a racket that we were disturbing all through the movie. Their approach was offensive and though I remember not saying anything to them, I thought to myself, “that’s just rude” because we didn’t actually “know” we were disturbing.

(Photo credit- uncommonpics.com)

Mind back to last week, it just clicked to me that these girls may not actually be aware that they were making a lot of noise and they were just having fun, oblivious to the world around them.

While it doesn’t make it right for people’s actions to be insensitive (ignorance is not an excuse), it helps to know that we are also prone to make mistakes that others make. It helps put things in perspective and you will live a happier life.

Food for thought:

John 8:7 says “So when they continued asking him, he lifted up himself, and said unto them, He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.” Was Jesus making an excuse for the sin of the woman who committed adultery in John 8? No, He wasn’t.

Life nugget:

Matthew 7:3-5 “And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye? Or how wilt thou say to thy brother, Let me pull out the mote out of thine eye; and, behold, a beam is in thine own eye? Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye.”

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

One thought on “Parallel Universe

  1. Precious says:

    Hmmm..True.. Saying to myself ‘That could have been me’, when others do things I don’t appreciate has helped me live happier and easier with people around me. Staying conscious of the fact that we are all humans and prone to mistakes.

Leave a Reply

