Beep…beep…I’m alive

(photo credit: justrideplymouth.com)

If we are to break down Jesus’ ministry into phases, we will probably all agree on these three: Death (Crucifixion), Resurrection and Ascension. Also, as many of us may be know, as believers we also have these three phases:

  • Death: Romans 6:3 “Know ye not, that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into his death?”
  • Resurrection: Galatians 2:20 “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.”
  • Ascension: Ephesians 2:6 “And hath raised us up together, and made us sit together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus”

So if we have “passed from death to life”, why do we still experience some things? Why do we still struggle with some old habits? Why do we still fall sick? Why do we still lack sometimes? This is the reason in a nutshell: Man is a three-fold being: Body, Soul (Mind) and Spirit. Salvation is from a spiritual standpoint; we still have something to do about the other two parts:

  1. Body: Romans 12:1 “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.”
  2. Mind: Romans 12:2 “And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

As we keep feeding on the Word of God, our mind keeps getting transformed to believe according to God’s Word. That’s why Peter said in 1Peter 2:2 “As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby:”

Food for thought:

There was a time when I’d kneel down and cry “hot tears” and say “God, why don’t you just override my will and take this sin away from me?” I didn’t know I was the one to do something about it because I hadn’t read Romans 8:13 then.

Life nugget:

Romans 6:14 “For sin shall not have dominion over you: for ye are not under the law, but under grace.”

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

Leave a Reply

