Motives matters

(Photo credit: wycliffe.org.uk)

Sometimes I get on my knees to pray and after a while I ask myself: “Why am I even praying?” Other times I’m halfway through my Bible Study and then I wonder “Am I doing this to fulfill all righteousness?” And then those days when I fast, I wonder if I’m just going on a diet.

By now, you should get where I’m going with this. The reason we do the things we do matters. That is one of the differences between being religious and being spiritual. A couple of Scriptures to back this up:

1Cor 13:3 “And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.

Rom 2:16 “In the day when God shall judge the secrets of men by Jesus Christ according to my gospel.

Heb 4:12 “For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

Don’t get me wrong, obedience is good. However, beyond plain obedience is knowing the reason behind what you are doing so that you don’t miss out on the real benefits. For example:

  • You can stand on the fact that you are a tithe payer to rebuke the devourer from your possessions (Mal 3:8-10).
  • Honour your parents and it shall be well with you (Eph 6:2-3)
  • When you are giving to the poor, remember that you are lending to God: He will repay (Prov 19:17)
  • Pray in the Spirit. It’s not (only) when you are tired of praying that you switch to tongues; it’s a means of personal edification (1Cor 14:4)

I guess the journey becomes more interesting when you know why you are going.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

4 thoughts on “Motives matters

  1. Timiebix says:

    Thank you for posting this. Been waiting for a non-techy post (hehehe) Sometimes fulfilling all righteousness is not enough!(at least that’s what I tell myself).
    The praying in the Spirit part got me! I just keep quiet or sing when I run out of words to say.

    Now this brings a question to mind; what do you think about people who never speak one word of English(or any language) when praying .
    Example; pastor/prayer leader gives out prayer points but only prays in the spirit for the duration of the prayer. (just wondering maybe you’ll have the answer 🙂 )

    • Adeolu says:

      *covers face* Don’t worry, only one techy article per month from now.

      Regarding your question, I sometimes find myself praying entirely in tongues too and depending on the scenario, I may switch to praying with understanding. There are times when you want to pray entirely in tongues to edify yourself and I guess that’s okay. But there is also praying in understanding (1Cor 14).

      Using an analogy given by Kenneth Hagin, Praying in tongues and Praying in understanding are like the two wheels of a bicycle. You should use both of them to be effective.

      • Timiebix says:

        Yay!!! I look forward to the techy post now 😛

        Thank you for this explanation, it opens up a whole new perspective 🙂

        God bless you 🙂

  2. Tolu says:

    Nice article

Leave a Reply

