How can you say God is not partial?

(Photo credit: wdedueval.com)

That was the question I had in my head after I read Paul’s statement in Galatians 2:6 (NKJV):

But from those who seemed to be something—whatever they were, it makes no difference to me; God shows personal favoritism to no man—for those who seemed to be something added nothing to me.”

I also remember Peter had made a similar statement in Acts 10:34:

Then Peter opened his mouth and said: “In truth I perceive that God shows no partiality.”

How can you say God is not partial and yet He was very ‘partial’ to Abraham or even David? These verses are some of those verses of the Bible that you read, don’t understand and just move on, mentally agreeing that the Bible is right and you just have not seen the light. But not today; I wanted answers – and so I asked.

The answer I got is best described using an analogy. If a “rich” man goes to the bank and asks for the N1,000,000 that is in his account and the cashier gives it to him and a “poor” man goes to the same cashier and asks for N1,000,000 when all he has in his account is N15,000, is the cashier partial for not giving him what he does not have?

The answer was actually insinuated in Acts 10:35 “But in every nation whoever fears Him and works righteousness is accepted by Him.

Therefore, there are two things we can draw from this:

  1. If you know the principles of God and apply them rightly, you will receive from God no matter who you are – rich or poor, black or white, pastor or member.
  2. You can’t draw what you don’t have meaning that you cannot expect to get the same result as the person who has developed a deeper relationship with God than you have.

(The second point is credited to my wife after I shared what I learnt with her.)

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

One thought on “How can you say God is not partial?

  1. Timiebix says:

    Hmmm you cannot withdraw more than your balance! Food for thought!

Leave a Reply

