Bible study with various versions

I recently started using the NKJV version as my main Bible study version; formerly I was a KJV-ian. In the past months that I have been using NKJV, I have seen different meanings come to life in same verses I have read in KJV. A few of them:

Philippians 2:9 (KJV): “Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him, and given him a name which is above every name” Other versions read “the name” which gives a stronger meaning to the verse. “a name” makes it seem like there may be other names that are on equal standing with the one God gave Jesus.

1Tim 3:6 (KJV): “Not a novice, lest being lifted up with pride he fall into the condemnation of the devil.” Reading other versions, I got to find out this verse actually meant “the same condemnation as the devil did“.

ITim 6:10 (KJV): “For the love of money is the root of all evil…” Other versions read “a root” signifying that there are other evils which do not have their root in the love of money. Here again we see the difference between ‘a’ and ‘the’.

In summary, even though you use a particular version of the Bible for your study, check other versions from time to time; you just might unlock a different level of understanding for what you are reading.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

4 thoughts on “Bible study with various versions

  1. supremelikeme says:

    The Message (MSG) unlocks things for me. Maybe it how it simplifies(for me) some verses.
    There are verses I read and go ahaaaa so this is what it was saying. Most times this version jolts me as it can of blunt( I guess that’s what I needed at those times πŸ™‚ )
    Thank you for sharing.

  2. Timiebix says:

    The Message (MSG) unlocks things for me. Maybe it how it simplifies(for me) some verses.
    There are verses I read and go ahaaaa so this is what it was saying. Most times this version jolts me as it can of blunt( I guess that’s what I needed at those times πŸ™‚ )
    Thank you for sharing.

    Please ignore the previous message was logged in from a different account πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

