One year later…

A few days ago made it one year since I carried my portmanteau and moved back to Nigeria from the UK. In January of that year, I woke up and asked myself the question: “Adeolu, what are you doing here?” I had asked myself that question severally in the past but it wasn’t until that day that I decided to do something about it.

The plan was never to stay in the UK after my Masters but one and a half years after my degree, I found myself “stuck in a rut”, doing something that was not in line with my passion (although I’m thankful for that job) and just wondering where I was going. Plus otutu ibeyen o mo mi lara rara (literal translation: my body is not used to the cold of that place).

I was scared of course. It was bad enough that I was moving away from somewhat-certain to totally-uncertain; I was also getting married in a few months! By the way, I thank God for giving me an understanding woman and a great support system in friends and family.

The first thing I did was to pray about it: “God, I want to go back to Nigeria; are You coming with me?” I got my answer on different levels and also a Word from Isaiah 41:10 “Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

The next thing I did was to put my house (finance) in order. How was I to fend for me and my wife without an 8-5 job? You should understand that I didn’t have any job offer in Nigeria when I moved. More like I didn’t want an 8-5 anymore. I wanted to start something. But being realistic, even if the “something” succeeded, it would take at least 6 months before it started generating enough sustainable income. I had to look for alternative sources of income.

At that time, I was a contract technical contributor for a training school and I was writing between 4 and 6 (paid) articles for them. I sent them an email about the possibility of increasing my articles and they were very interested. But being interested is not the same as money in your account at the end of the month. I still had to take that step of faith that their interest will turn to reality.

So I boarded the plane on the 22nd of March, 2014 and landed in Nigeria on the 23rd, not really knowing what to expect. But here I am, one year later, God has kept me. Oh, He has more than kept me and my family. Don’t get me wrong, there were crazy times! Some days, I have felt like quitting and just getting a regular job but I’m still here. My Father is faithful.

Why did I share this story? Moving back to Nigeria was the biggest risk I ever took and I believe there are so many people out there that feel stuck where they are just like I did but are too scared to make that change. God is the Key factor here: if He didn’t go with me, I will never have gone. But I had to ask (and listen, be obedient, etc.)

One thing that scares people is not having a job where they will be moving to and that’s being realistic. I also think you should have something to do where you are moving to or something that is almost certain to come, but I’m also a faith person so I know God may be leading you another way. Follow Him. Take that leap of faith. What’s the worst that can happen? *grin* Think about it.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

5 thoughts on “One year later…

  1. Eyitayo says:

    Faith and a sure word from God is the best tool that we as christians can use in taking risk and making progress at the same time. God going with you made the difference.

  2. Amplebrain says:

    As someone that finds himself at the crossroads every so often, I find this brave and inspiring!

  3. Pastor Sola says:

    Such an inspiring piece.

  4. jurrysys says:

    Bold step. Very inspiring..

  5. Timiebix says:

    Father Lord in heaven!!! let me end it there. I will go back to Him cos these signs are pilling up 🙂 !

    Anyways just to let you know this is for me, exactly what I needed to read this very minute.

    Thank you for this and thank God for keeping you through it all, more testimonies of His greatness to come!

Leave a Reply

