Wills in-sync

(Photo credit- isabelsantgabrielswimming.blogspot.com)

Have you ever been in a situation where you know that you are walking with God? Like you just know that you are out of His Presence? It’s a terrible feeling. So you can imagine what Jesus went through as expressed in the garden of Gethsemane. The One Who knew no sin, Who was never out of God’s Presence, was about to be separated from the Father. If Jesus had His way, He wouldn’t have wanted to lose that union as expressed in Matthew 26:39:

“And he went a little further, and fell on his face, and prayed, saying, O my Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me: nevertheless not as I will, but as thou wilt.

You can imagine the agony. The sorrow that Jesus felt. He said in verse 38 that the sorrow was “even unto death”. Now let’s move ahead. He went a second time to pray and this is what He said in verse 42:

He went away again the second time, and prayed, saying, O my Father, if this cup may not pass away from me, except I drink it, thy will be done.

I notice a slight change of speech here. The first one was more about asking for a change. The 2nd one was more about acceptance of what was to come. But let’s see what happened finally in verses 53 and 54:

Thinkest thou that I cannot now pray to my Father, and he shall presently give me more than twelve legions of angels? But how then shall the scriptures be fulfilled, that thus it must be?

Wills in-sync! We see here a process of Jesus syncing up His will with that of His Father. That’s the same thing we need to do: Let go of our own plans and will, and walk in God’s will for our lives.

Food for thought:

Hebrew 5:8 “Though he were a Son, yet learned he obedience by the things which he suffered;”

Life nugget:

Mark 3:35 “For whosoever shall do the will of God, the same is my brother, and my sister, and mother.

About Adeolu

Seeking to know Him more. Sharing daily experiences. Reaching for greatness together.

Leave a comment